Skiving the boot stiffeners…

Skiving the boot stiffeners...

After cutting out my lining and stiffeners at Heidi’s place, i went home to skive them (to thin out the edges to avoid lumps and bumps). This, as shown in the photo, I did out in the spring sun, after soaking the stiffeners overnight in water, to make them easier to work on. Although I didn’t manage to escape the process without random chunks out of the leather and a few cuts on my fingers, I did notice that I was enjoying doing it rather than cursing it all the time..

Leave a Reply

